1982

15th May - Bach's 'St. John Passion'

At the Church of the Holy Spirit, Crawcrook

Conductor – D. Parkyn Marshall

Soloists – Evangelist – Godfrey Hutchinson; Gillian Brunton (soprano), Jean Kelly (alto), John Sharrocks (tenor), Robert Seaton (bass)

(other solos by choir members – Brian Hamshere, Stan Davison, Stan Gaynor, and Michael Grave).

The programme lists current choir members David Telford-Reed, Paul Gailiunas, Kathleen Lucas and Barbara Crozier for the first time.

18th July

The choir were part of A Service of Thanksgiving for the Centenary of the Church Army that was broadcast by Tyne Tees Television (for the National Network) from The Grove, Ryton. The choir was joined by The Ovington Band (Director - William Hopkinson). Derrick Parkyn Marshall conducted the concert.

4th December – Vaughan Williams' 'Fantasia on Christmas Carols' and 'Serenade to Music'; Mendelssohn's 'Hymn of Praise' (+ carols)

Conductor - D. Parkyn Marshall

Soloists – Howard Taylor, Susan Dutton, Robin Ritson, Jean Kelly, Stan Davison This concert marked the end of an era as Ursula Bell had retired, for health reasons, from her role as accompanist. She was, accordingly, made the first Honorary Life Member of Ryton Choral Society.

Fund-raising was still an issue. John Roddam had produced a Christmas card that was on sale – proceeds to support Society funds.